Go to home page
Black Voices For Black Justice Fund

Black Voices for Black Justice Fund Announces 24 Awards to Black Leaders Advancing Racial Justice


May 5, 2022 –  The Black Voices for Black Justice Fund, a pooled philanthropic fund with 18 partners, today announced its fourth round of awardees. Each of the 24 new awardees will receive at least $20,000 to use in whatever way they believe, based on their lived experience, will do the most good advancing racial justice in their communities at this pivotal time.

“Our awardees are real champions for social justice who are working tirelessly every day in their communities to build a fair, equitable and anti-racist America,” said Shavar Jeffries, co-chair of the Fund and CEO of Education Reform Now.  “We are thrilled to support their important and impactful work.”

“Our Social Justice Fund is thrilled to support Black Voices for Black Justice. We believe in its goal of fully trusting community leaders with boots on the ground to best understand local needs,” said Clara Wu Tsai, founder of the Joe and Clara Tsai Foundation.  “The extraordinary awardees from Brooklyn have demonstrated this understanding and are making a tremendous difference for racial, social, economic and climate justice, including transformative work with young people. I’m excited to see and support their continued impact on our community.”

The latest cohort of awardees includes Black leaders in over 20 states with many of the activists based in Brooklyn, NY; Flint, MI; New Orleans, LA; and Wilmington, DE. They join the 74 previous awardees who were selected during earlier rounds of giving. All awardees are celebrated for their leadership in changing systems of oppression, violence and inequality.

The 24 new awardees are: Dr. Tony Alleyne, Haley Elizabeth Anderson, Afua Atta-Mensah, Reverend Dr. William Barber II, Brittany Barnett, Giselle Burgess, Montrell Carmouche, Mari Copeny, Melissa Denizard, Christopher Rashad Green, Bernell Grier, Kahina Haynes, Kaya Henderson, Norris Henderson, Chantal Hinds, Dr. William Jackson, James Jeter, Leslie-Bernard Joseph, Tonya Lynch, Elizabeth Clay Roy, Andrew Saunders, Heather McTeer Toney, Ebony Underwood and Kei Williams. More information about the awardees is at:  https://blackvoices.org/.

This round of awards is funded by seven of the 18 BVBJ partners: Chan Zuckerberg Initiative,
Delaware Community Foundation & Rodel Foundation, Joe and Clara Tsai Foundation,
Kenan Charitable Trust, Red Crane Foundation and The Moriah Fund.




Keep up by keeping informed